What You Gain From a Diet

Although I don’t resonate with the word diet, it’s one that is commonly used within the health community. Maybe the word just got a bad rep over the years, however my association with it remains removing or staying away from certain unhealthy foods; restricting; suffering. It could also very well be used to describe eating preferences – dietary intake. Anyway, this isn’t about the word diet. However you interpret it, I think we can agree it’s a commonly used word when talking about health.

I’m intrigued about going on a diet myself. But it has nothing to do with eating and everything to do with ingesting information. We are being forcefed information from every direction that we merely glance at… Aaaanndddd as I write this I feel like I’m shoving a spoon in your mouth with yet another piece of information… But again, not the point. Information isn’t bad. Information is vital. It is the bridge that allows us to get to the places we want to get to. Actually, it’s the individual bricks (or whatever bridges are made up of) that are the pieces of information required to get us places we want to go.

We live in the Information Age. And what this has lead to is a huge pile of bricks in every direction that we look. A giant wall of information that is nowhere close to being a bridge. An incredible amount of information that, if not sorted properly, doesn’t allow us to get anywhere.
Sometimes we might fool ourselves that having lots of bricks is good. But if those bricks aren’t getting used to get you to where you’re looking to go or if they’re blocking your view to what’s possible, then they’re just weight holding you down.

So I propose an information diet to shed all this weight.

It’s up to you to be conscious about the information that you allow to get your attention. Your time is precious. Put thought to what you welcome in your now. Everything is always fighting for your attention. Recognize that and be the architect of your life by having final say to what your bridge looks like.

I think I’ve taken this metaphor far enough now.

Try one day without social media. I’m saying this mainly because I need to hear it. There is a shit ton of information getting generated every minute on all the different platforms and you could easily spend a whole day trying to keep up with it because it never stops.

IT never stops.

YOU can choose to stop.

Try it for one full day.

The information diet isn’t about losing. But about gaining and what you’ll be gaining is perspective.

This hunger for information has become an addiction. We use it to numb our ability to feel. It sounds far fetched and maybe this is just my experience but I feel like this constant desire to go outward and find out information takes up the time that I would be going inward. It distracts me from something. It keeps me running away from something. Recognizing that is crucial.

What am I running away from?

Probably lots. But I won’t find answers if I’m continuously drowning myself in information; if I’m not selective about the time I choose to be outward; if I’m not in charge of what has my attention.

Half of the equation is recognizing this. The other half is doing something about it. So I propose some time to unplug from the virtual world and plug into the inner world …and then share your experience on social media 😉

Later. ✌🏻️

Leave a Reply

